There is a "default renewal mode" for your account which is set to AUTORENEW when you open an RRPproxy account. You can view and change the default renewal mode in the RRPproxy webinterface at: "Account > Settings > Account policy settings > Renewalmode".
The default renewal mode will be used for all domains with the renewal mode DEFAULT.
Every domain name has its own renewal mode. All domain names that you register or transfer to us have the renewal mode DEFAULT. If you do not change the renewal mode for a domain and leave it to DEFAULT the domain will be renewed, if your default renewal mode is set to AUTORENEW, or it will be deleted, if your account default renewal mode is set to AUTOEXPIRE, at the renewal date.
- If your default renewal mode is set to AUTOEXPIRE you have to make sure to change the renewal mode of a domain to AUTORENEW or RENEWONCE before the renewal date is reached in order to renew the domain. In this way you can cause all domains to be renewed at the renewal date. It is supported for all TLDs.
- If you set the renewal mode of a domain to RENEWONCE our system puts it back to DEFAULT after the successful renewal automatically. At the same time you will receive an RENEWAL::SUCCESSFUL event.
- Additionally to RENEWONCE, which is set to DEFAULT after a successful renewal, there are two options to have the domain instead set to AUTOEXPIRE or AUTODELETE after the renewal
- RENEWONCETHENAUTOEXPIRE: The domain is renewed once and is then set to AUTOEXPIRE instead of DEFAULT.
- RENEWONCETHENAUTODELETE: The domain is renewed once and is then set to AUTODELETE instead of DEFAULT.
To change the renewal mode of one or more domain names through the RRPproxy webinterface please go to "Query List > Domain Renewals". You can also set the renewal mode for a domain through our API with the following command
command = SetDomainRenewalMode
domain = (DOMAIN)
renewalmode = DEFAULT | RENEWONCE | RENEWONCETHENAUTOEXPIRE | RENEWONCETHENAUTODELETE | AUTORENEW | AUTOEXPIRE | AUTODELETE | EXPIREAUCTION
Autoexpire vs. Autodelete
For most TLDs there is no difference between AUTODELETE and AUTOEXPIRE. But there is a difference for .AT and .DE domain names.
- If an .AT domain name is set to AUTOEXPIRE the invoice recipient will be changed to the owner at the registry (billwithdraw). In this case the owner will receive an invoice and has to pay the registry for a renewal. If an .AT domain is set to AUTODELETE it will be deleted at the registry.
- If a .DE domain is set to AUTODELETE it will be deleted and can be restored within 30 days.
- If a .DE domain is set to AUTOEXPIRE it will be pushed to DENIC TRANSIT at the end of the registration period.
Please remember that you need an authorization in order to delete a .DE / .AT domain.
Some registries allow an explicit renewal of the domain names. This means, a domain name can be renewed even if the current registration period is not finished. An explicit renewal can only be done if the maximum registration period is more than one year and the current registration period plus the renewal does not exceed the maximum registration period of the respective TLD.
For supported TLDs, an explicit renewal can be done through the RRPproxy webinterface ("Domain Admin > Renew Domain") or with the following API command:
command = RenewDomain
domain = (DOMAIN)
period = (INT)
expiration = (DATE)
|period || available renewal periods are shown on the TLD info page|
|expiration || current year of expiration as YYYY(some registries might automatically apply one additional year, if the renewal date is past the expiration date, wherefore one year has to be deducted from the shown year e.g. .COM)|
The following TLDs do NOT support an explicit renewal
|.PM||Saint Pierre and Miquelon|
|.TF||French Southern and Antarctic Lands|
|.WF||Wallis and Futuna|
Renewal on internal transfer
The new option for internal transfer renewals wil give you the possibility to either continue to use these properties (default), apply the registry policy (i.e. renew according to transfer policy of the respective registry), or never renew a domain upon a successfully processed internal transfer. These options only apply for incoming transfers and can be set account-wide. Furthermore, it is possible to skip or process the renewal individually per internal domain transfer (norenew = 0|1).
Please note that these options only apply to internal transfers within accreditations of Key-Systems. Reseller accreditations using Registry Account Management (RAM) can not use these options for internally transferring domains to another reseller. Instead a normal inter-registrar transfer applies.
The settings can be found in the web interface following "Account" -> "Settings" on the tab "General" as of January 4, 2016. However, the new drop-down menu is already available in our OT&E system:
- "Default" renews .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .NAME domains upon internal transfer. All other TLDs will not.
- "Apply registry policy" renews domains according to the specific registry transfer policy.
- "No renew" never renews a domain upon internal transfer.